Aer Lingus with a baby: infant fares, pushchairs, car seats and bassinets
What Aer Lingus says about infant fares, baby baggage, pushchairs, car seats, bassinets and baby milk, taken only from Aer Lingus's official pages. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026.
Key facts (last checked: 30 Oct 2026)
- Cabin pushchair limit: Not stated by the airline
- Gate or aircraft door: Hand the buggy in at the boarding gate; collection point varies by airport.
Units follow the UK / US switch in the header (cm and kg, or inches and lb).
Infant fare and lap-infant age
Infants under 2 sit on an adult's knee with an infant loop belt. The fare is a flat €25/£25 (or equivalent, excluding taxes and charges) per one-way flight on European routes, or 10% of the adult fare on flights to and from North America (not on Aer Lingus Regional flights). Aer Lingus sets no minimum age but recommends checking with your doctor for babies up to two weeks old; premature babies need medical clearance.
Infant baggage allowance
Infant bookings include a 10 kg (22 lb) checked bag. Carry-on items for the infant must fit in the accompanying adult's allowance.
Pushchair and stroller rules
One fully collapsible buggy/stroller free per infant or child booking, plus one of: car seat, booster seat or travel cot. It can be checked in or handed in at the gate; gate-handed buggies come back at a collection point that varies by destination (not always the aircraft door).
Cabin: A cabin buggy allowance is not stated; the buggy is checked in or handed in at the boarding gate.
Car seats and child restraints (CRS)
Needs a purchased seat at a window. Forward-facing only (rear-facing not permitted), with a 5-point harness, secured by the aircraft lap belt, with a CE or FAA label saying it's certified for motor vehicles and aircraft. Maximum width: 42 cm (16.5 in) on the 0 to 5 months section of the page and 43 cm (17 in) on the 6 to 24 months section. Car seats are for children over 6 months and under 36 months; babies 0 to 5 months must sit on an adult's knee.
Bassinet or cot
Bassinet seats on transatlantic flights, subject to availability and pre-booking through reservations. Not available for infants with their own seat. Size and weight limits: Not stated by the airline on the pages we checked.
Baby food and milk
Cabin crew will heat bottles and baby food on request. Baby changing facilities on all aircraft.
Compare Aer Lingus with 40 other airlines in our sortable airline pushchair limits table (cm and inches), check your buggy in the cabin size checker, or read pushchair allowances by airline, car seats on planes and bassinet rules.
Sources
- Aer Lingus: booking information for children. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026
- Aer Lingus: children's baggage allowance. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026
- Aer Lingus: facilities on board. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026
- Aer Lingus: special items. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026
- Aer Lingus: carry-on baggage. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026
Every rule on this page comes from Aer Lingus's own website, read on 30 Oct 2026. Where the airline doesn't say something, we write "not stated by the airline" rather than guess. Rules change, so confirm with Aer Lingus before you fly. Spotted a change? See our airline baby rule changes log.
FAQ
How much does a lap infant cost on Aer Lingus?
Infants under 2 sit on an adult's knee with an infant loop belt. The fare is a flat €25/£25 (or equivalent, excluding taxes and charges) per one-way flight on European routes, or 10% of the adult fare on flights to and from North America (not on Aer Lingus Regional flights). Aer Lingus sets no minimum age but recommends checking with your doctor for babies up to two weeks old; premature babies need medical clearance. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on Aer Lingus's official website.)
Can I take a pushchair on Aer Lingus?
One fully collapsible buggy/stroller free per infant or child booking, plus one of: car seat, booster seat or travel cot. It can be checked in or handed in at the gate; gate-handed buggies come back at a collection point that varies by destination (not always the aircraft door). A cabin buggy allowance is not stated; the buggy is checked in or handed in at the boarding gate. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on Aer Lingus's official website.)
Can my baby use a car seat on Aer Lingus?
Needs a purchased seat at a window. Forward-facing only (rear-facing not permitted), with a 5-point harness, secured by the aircraft lap belt, with a CE or FAA label saying it's certified for motor vehicles and aircraft. Maximum width: 42 cm (16.5 in) on the 0 to 5 months section of the page and 43 cm (17 in) on the 6 to 24 months section. Car seats are for children over 6 months and under 36 months; babies 0 to 5 months must sit on an adult's knee. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on Aer Lingus's official website.)
Does Aer Lingus have bassinets or cots?
Bassinet seats on transatlantic flights, subject to availability and pre-booking through reservations. Not available for infants with their own seat. Size and weight limits: Not stated by the airline on the pages we checked. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on Aer Lingus's official website.)
Can I bring baby food and milk on Aer Lingus?
Cabin crew will heat bottles and baby food on request. Baby changing facilities on all aircraft. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on Aer Lingus's official website.)
Compact pushchairs for flying
| Product | Weight | Folded size | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bugaboo Butterfly 2 | 7.3 kg (16.1 lbs) | 44.8 × 24.5 × 55.5 cm (17.6 × 9.6 × 21.8 in, IATA cabin-compatible) | £435 RRP / $479 MSRP | Check price at Bugaboo |
| Joolz Aer+ | 6 kg (13.2 lbs) | 53.5 × 45 × 21.5 cm (21.1 × 17.7 × 8.5 in) | £419 RRP / $449 MSRP | Check price at Joolz |
| Stokke YOYO3 (Babyzen YOYO) | 6.2 kg (13.6 lbs) | 52 × 44 × 18 cm (20.5 × 17.3 × 7.1 in, IATA cabin-size) | £399 RRP / $449 MSRP | Check price at Stokke |
| UPPAbaby Minu V2 | 7.7 kg (16.9 lbs) | 58.4 × 45.2 × 29.2 cm (23 × 17.8 × 11.5 in) | £399 RRP / $399 MSRP | Check price at UPPAbaby |
| Joie pact lite | 5.35 kg (11.8 lbs) | 46.8 × 26 × 54 cm (18.4 × 10.2 × 21.3 in) | Around £160 / $199 (varies by retailer) | Check price at Joie |
Blank cells: not yet verified from the maker's official page.
Related guides
Some links may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more. Specs and prices come from makers' official pages (checked 2026-10-30). Always check before you buy.
Handy tools
The Kiddieko letter
Gear picks and travel tips for parents, about twice a month. No spam.



