British Airways with a baby: infant fares, pushchairs, car seats and bassinets
Key facts
Short answer: British Airways charges a lap infant fare (a percentage of the adult fare) for babies under 2, carries full-term babies from 48 hours old, and gives a lap infant a 23 kg checked bag plus two free baby items such as a pushchair and car seat, even on Basic fares. On long-haul flights it offers free carrycots for babies up to 6 months and 8 kg.
What British Airways says about infant fares, baby baggage, pushchairs, car seats, bassinets and baby milk, taken only from British Airways's official pages. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026.
Key facts (last checked: 30 Oct 2026)
- Cabin pushchair limit: Not stated by the airline
- Gate or aircraft door: Door-return service at selected airports for pushchairs within 117 × 38 × 38 cm; ask at check-in.
Units follow the UK / US switch in the header (cm and kg, or inches and lb).
Infant fare and lap-infant age
Babies from birth to 23 months are infants. On your lap they pay an infant fare, which BA describes as a percentage of the adult fare (BA doesn't publish the percentage). A baby in their own seat pays a child fare and must use an approved car seat or AmSafe system. Newborns must be at least 48 hours old; BA recommends waiting until one week.
Infant baggage allowance
One 23 kg checked bag for a lap infant in every cabin, except hand-baggage-only (Basic) fares, where neither of you has a checked bag. An infant also gets an extra bag for in-flight essentials within your hand baggage allowance.
Pushchair and stroller rules
Each infant and child can check in up to two essential extras free, even on Basic: a fully collapsible pushchair, a car or booster seat, a travel cot or a baby back carrier. At some airports BA returns the pushchair to the aircraft door if it is a single-piece, slimline, fully collapsible pushchair no bigger than 117 cm long, 38 cm high and 38 cm deep including wheels; bigger pushchairs come back on the baggage carousel.
Cabin: BA's pages describe pushchairs travelling in the hold, with aircraft-door return at some airports; a cabin pushchair allowance is not stated.
Car seats and child restraints (CRS)
Use on board needs a booked seat. The car seat must be no wider than 43 cm (17 in), face the same way as the aircraft seat, have a metal or plastic frame and a harness; two-part seats (seat plus separate base) are not suitable. If it doesn't comply, an infant under 24 months sits on your lap with an extension belt for taxi, take-off, landing and turbulence.
Bassinet or cot
Long-haul: free carrycots for babies up to 6 months and 8 kg (17.5 lb), and free infant seats from birth to 24 months up to 12.5 kg (27.5 lb), subject to availability and aircraft type. You choose a carrycot seat position when booking.
Baby food and milk
Bring enough unopened baby food, sterilised bottles and feeding kit in your hand baggage; BA carries only a limited supply of baby food sachets on long-haul and can't sterilise bottles or provide sterilised water. Crew will warm baby milk. Baby milk, formula and baby food can go through security above the normal liquid limits; breast milk up to 2 litres per container in a clear container, liquid not frozen.
Compare British Airways with 40 other airlines in our sortable airline pushchair limits table (cm and inches), check your buggy in the cabin size checker, or read pushchair allowances by airline, car seats on planes and bassinet rules.
Sources
- BA: family travel. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026
- BA: tickets and travel documents. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026
- BA: car seats, pushchairs and children's bags. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026
- BA: family seating, carrycots and car seats. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026
- BA: children's food and drink. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026
- BA: get ready to travel FAQs. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026
Every rule on this page comes from British Airways's own website, read on 30 Oct 2026. Where the airline doesn't say something, we write "not stated by the airline" rather than guess. Rules change, so confirm with British Airways before you fly. Spotted a change? See our airline baby rule changes log.
FAQ
How much does a lap infant cost on British Airways?
Babies from birth to 23 months are infants. On your lap they pay an infant fare, which BA describes as a percentage of the adult fare (BA doesn't publish the percentage). A baby in their own seat pays a child fare and must use an approved car seat or AmSafe system. Newborns must be at least 48 hours old; BA recommends waiting until one week. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on British Airways's official website.)
Can I take a pushchair on British Airways?
Each infant and child can check in up to two essential extras free, even on Basic: a fully collapsible pushchair, a car or booster seat, a travel cot or a baby back carrier. At some airports BA returns the pushchair to the aircraft door if it is a single-piece, slimline, fully collapsible pushchair no bigger than 117 cm long, 38 cm high and 38 cm deep including wheels; bigger pushchairs come back on the baggage carousel. BA's pages describe pushchairs travelling in the hold, with aircraft-door return at some airports; a cabin pushchair allowance is not stated. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on British Airways's official website.)
Can my baby use a car seat on British Airways?
Use on board needs a booked seat. The car seat must be no wider than 43 cm (17 in), face the same way as the aircraft seat, have a metal or plastic frame and a harness; two-part seats (seat plus separate base) are not suitable. If it doesn't comply, an infant under 24 months sits on your lap with an extension belt for taxi, take-off, landing and turbulence. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on British Airways's official website.)
Does British Airways have bassinets or cots?
Long-haul: free carrycots for babies up to 6 months and 8 kg (17.5 lb), and free infant seats from birth to 24 months up to 12.5 kg (27.5 lb), subject to availability and aircraft type. You choose a carrycot seat position when booking. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on British Airways's official website.)
Can I bring baby food and milk on British Airways?
Bring enough unopened baby food, sterilised bottles and feeding kit in your hand baggage; BA carries only a limited supply of baby food sachets on long-haul and can't sterilise bottles or provide sterilised water. Crew will warm baby milk. Baby milk, formula and baby food can go through security above the normal liquid limits; breast milk up to 2 litres per container in a clear container, liquid not frozen. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on British Airways's official website.)
Compact pushchairs for flying
| Product | Weight | Folded size | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bugaboo Butterfly 2 | 7.3 kg (16.1 lbs) | 44.8 × 24.5 × 55.5 cm (17.6 × 9.6 × 21.8 in, IATA cabin-compatible) | £435 RRP / $479 MSRP | Check price at Bugaboo |
| Joolz Aer+ | 6 kg (13.2 lbs) | 53.5 × 45 × 21.5 cm (21.1 × 17.7 × 8.5 in) | £419 RRP / $449 MSRP | Check price at Joolz |
| Stokke YOYO3 (Babyzen YOYO) | 6.2 kg (13.6 lbs) | 52 × 44 × 18 cm (20.5 × 17.3 × 7.1 in, IATA cabin-size) | £399 RRP / $449 MSRP | Check price at Stokke |
| UPPAbaby Minu V2 | 7.7 kg (16.9 lbs) | 58.4 × 45.2 × 29.2 cm (23 × 17.8 × 11.5 in) | £399 RRP / $399 MSRP | Check price at UPPAbaby |
| Joie pact lite | 5.35 kg (11.8 lbs) | 46.8 × 26 × 54 cm (18.4 × 10.2 × 21.3 in) | Around £160 / $199 (varies by retailer) | Check price at Joie |
Blank cells: not yet verified from the maker's official page.
Related guides
Some links may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more. Specs and prices come from makers' official pages (checked 2026-10-30). Always check before you buy.
Last checked and updated: · Kiddieko · How we check facts
Handy tools
The Kiddieko letter
Gear picks and travel tips for parents, about twice a month. No spam.



