← All airlines

Icelandair with a baby: infant fares, pushchairs, car seats and bassinets

What Icelandair says about infant fares, baby baggage, pushchairs, car seats, bassinets and baby milk, taken only from Icelandair's official pages. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026.

Key facts (last checked: 30 Oct 2026)

Units follow the UK / US switch in the header (cm and kg, or inches and lb).

Infant fare and lap-infant age

A ticket is needed for an infant under 2 (24 months). On a lap, Icelandair says infants travel at a reduced fare of up to 90% on Economy fares and 75% on Saga fares internationally; in their own seat, up to 20% off on Economy fares. You can't book an unborn child; add the baby after birth.

Infant baggage allowance

Infants: 1 checked bag (except Economy Light) and no carry-on baggage; a stroller and a car seat or carrying basket are always included.

Pushchair and stroller rules

Stroller included free. Icelandair says rules vary by airport, some destinations don't allow pushchairs through security, and pushchairs put in the hold at the gate can't be brought back to the aircraft on arrival. Airport pushchairs are available at Keflavík.

Cabin: A cabin pushchair allowance is not stated.

Car seats and child restraints (CRS)

An infant can use an approved child seat at a window if you buy the child fare. Seats must attach with a 2-point lap belt and meet ECE R44-03 or later, US FMVSS 213 (with both red-lettered labels), the German TÜV aircraft standard or Canadian CMVSS 213. CARES is approved (age 1+, 10 to 20 kg). Icelandair doesn't provide child seats. Bedboxes aren't allowed on board.

Bassinet or cot

Not stated by the airline on the pages we checked.

Baby food and milk

Children 2 to 11 get a free refreshment and drink on all flights. Food for infants under 2: Not stated by the airline on the pages we checked.

Compare Icelandair with 40 other airlines in our sortable airline pushchair limits table (cm and inches), check your buggy in the cabin size checker, or read pushchair allowances by airline, car seats on planes and bassinet rules.

Sources

Every rule on this page comes from Icelandair's own website, read on 30 Oct 2026. Where the airline doesn't say something, we write "not stated by the airline" rather than guess. Rules change, so confirm with Icelandair before you fly. Spotted a change? See our airline baby rule changes log.

FAQ

How much does a lap infant cost on Icelandair?

A ticket is needed for an infant under 2 (24 months). On a lap, Icelandair says infants travel at a reduced fare of up to 90% on Economy fares and 75% on Saga fares internationally; in their own seat, up to 20% off on Economy fares. You can't book an unborn child; add the baby after birth. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on Icelandair's official website.)

Can I take a pushchair on Icelandair?

Stroller included free. Icelandair says rules vary by airport, some destinations don't allow pushchairs through security, and pushchairs put in the hold at the gate can't be brought back to the aircraft on arrival. Airport pushchairs are available at Keflavík. A cabin pushchair allowance is not stated. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on Icelandair's official website.)

Can my baby use a car seat on Icelandair?

An infant can use an approved child seat at a window if you buy the child fare. Seats must attach with a 2-point lap belt and meet ECE R44-03 or later, US FMVSS 213 (with both red-lettered labels), the German TÜV aircraft standard or Canadian CMVSS 213. CARES is approved (age 1+, 10 to 20 kg). Icelandair doesn't provide child seats. Bedboxes aren't allowed on board. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on Icelandair's official website.)

Does Icelandair have bassinets or cots?

Not stated by the airline on the pages we checked. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on Icelandair's official website.)

Can I bring baby food and milk on Icelandair?

Children 2 to 11 get a free refreshment and drink on all flights. Food for infants under 2: Not stated by the airline on the pages we checked. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on Icelandair's official website.)

Compact pushchairs for flying

ProductWeightFolded sizePriceBuy
Bugaboo Butterfly 27.3 kg (16.1 lbs)44.8 × 24.5 × 55.5 cm (17.6 × 9.6 × 21.8 in, IATA cabin-compatible)£435 RRP / $479 MSRPCheck price at Bugaboo
Joolz Aer+6 kg (13.2 lbs)53.5 × 45 × 21.5 cm (21.1 × 17.7 × 8.5 in)£419 RRP / $449 MSRPCheck price at Joolz
Stokke YOYO3 (Babyzen YOYO)6.2 kg (13.6 lbs)52 × 44 × 18 cm (20.5 × 17.3 × 7.1 in, IATA cabin-size)£399 RRP / $449 MSRPCheck price at Stokke
UPPAbaby Minu V27.7 kg (16.9 lbs)58.4 × 45.2 × 29.2 cm (23 × 17.8 × 11.5 in)£399 RRP / $399 MSRPCheck price at UPPAbaby
Joie pact lite5.35 kg (11.8 lbs)46.8 × 26 × 54 cm (18.4 × 10.2 × 21.3 in)Around £160 / $199 (varies by retailer)Check price at Joie

Blank cells: not yet verified from the maker's official page.

Some links may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more. Specs and prices come from makers' official pages (checked 2026-10-30). Always check before you buy.

Handy tools

The Kiddieko letter

Gear picks and travel tips for parents, about twice a month. No spam.


We only use your email to send the letter, and you can unsubscribe at any time. See our privacy policy.