United Airlines with a baby: infant fares, strollers, car seats and bassinets
Key facts
Short answer: United lets babies under 2 fly free on your lap on domestic US flights, checks one stroller (or folding wagon) and one FAA-approved car seat free per child, allows a free diaper bag on top of your carry-on (even on Basic Economy), and offers free Family Seating for children under 12.
What United Airlines says about infant fares, baby baggage, strollers, car seats, bassinets and baby milk, taken only from United Airlines's official pages. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026.
Key facts (last checked: 30 Oct 2026)
- Cabin stroller limit: 56 × 35 × 23 cm22 × 13.8 × 9.1 in
- Gate or aircraft door: Strollers, folding wagons and car seats can be used to the gate and checked there free.
Units follow the UK / US switch in the header (cm and kg, or inches and lb).
Infant fare and lap-infant age
Lap children must be under 2. US domestic: free, no ticket needed (no checked bags for the child). Between the US, Canada, Mexico and the US Virgin Islands: a ticket is needed but you pay only taxes or 10% of the adult fare plus taxes (check fare rules). Other international: a partial fare based on destination. United can't fly infants younger than 7 days.
Infant baggage allowance
International lap infants with a ticket, and infants with a purchased seat, can check bags in their name under standard bag rules. Domestic lap infants can't. A diaper bag and breast pump are allowed on board.
Pushchair and stroller rules
One car seat and one stroller or folding wagon per child free, at the gate or ticket counter. Large or non-collapsible strollers and non-folding wagons go to the ticket counter (still free). Pack 'n Plays and collapsible cribs are charged at the bag rate.
Cabin: A compact folding stroller can come in the cabin if it meets carry-on size when collapsed: 22 × 14 × 9 in (56 × 35 × 23 cm) including handles and wheels.
Car seats and child restraints (CRS)
FAA-approved car seats made after 1985 (with the certification sticker) can be used in a purchased seat, ideally a window. Not allowed in United Polaris on Boeing 767, 777 or 787, or in exit rows. CARES is accepted. Booster seats and chest harnesses (papooses) can't be used on board. Check your aircraft's seat width on United's fleet page.
Bassinet or cot
Free bassinets on request, limited supply: United Polaris business class or select international Economy. Usable only when the seatbelt sign is off. Weight and age limits: Not stated by the airline on the pages we checked.
Baby food and milk
Breast milk, formula and a breast pump are allowed on board, and United says crew can store breast milk in fridges or coolers. Follow TSA guidelines at security.
Compare United Airlines with 40 other airlines in our sortable airline pushchair limits table (cm and inches), check your buggy in the cabin size checker, or read pushchair allowances by airline, car seats on planes and bassinet rules.
Sources
- United: traveling with children. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026
- United: carry-on bags. Last checked: 30 Oct 2026
Every rule on this page comes from United Airlines's own website, read on 30 Oct 2026. Where the airline doesn't say something, we write "not stated by the airline" rather than guess. Rules change, so confirm with United Airlines before you fly. Spotted a change? See our airline baby rule changes log.
FAQ
How much does a lap infant cost on United Airlines?
Lap children must be under 2. US domestic: free, no ticket needed (no checked bags for the child). Between the US, Canada, Mexico and the US Virgin Islands: a ticket is needed but you pay only taxes or 10% of the adult fare plus taxes (check fare rules). Other international: a partial fare based on destination. United can't fly infants younger than 7 days. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on United Airlines's official website.)
Can I take a stroller on United Airlines?
One car seat and one stroller or folding wagon per child free, at the gate or ticket counter. Large or non-collapsible strollers and non-folding wagons go to the ticket counter (still free). Pack 'n Plays and collapsible cribs are charged at the bag rate. A compact folding stroller can come in the cabin if it meets carry-on size when collapsed: 22 × 14 × 9 in (56 × 35 × 23 cm) including handles and wheels. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on United Airlines's official website.)
Can my baby use a car seat on United Airlines?
FAA-approved car seats made after 1985 (with the certification sticker) can be used in a purchased seat, ideally a window. Not allowed in United Polaris on Boeing 767, 777 or 787, or in exit rows. CARES is accepted. Booster seats and chest harnesses (papooses) can't be used on board. Check your aircraft's seat width on United's fleet page. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on United Airlines's official website.)
Does United Airlines have bassinets or cots?
Free bassinets on request, limited supply: United Polaris business class or select international Economy. Usable only when the seatbelt sign is off. Weight and age limits: Not stated by the airline on the pages we checked. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on United Airlines's official website.)
Can I bring baby food and milk on United Airlines?
Breast milk, formula and a breast pump are allowed on board, and United says crew can store breast milk in fridges or coolers. Follow TSA guidelines at security. (Checked 30 Oct 2026 on United Airlines's official website.)
Compact strollers for flying
| Product | Weight | Folded size | Price | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bugaboo Butterfly 2 | 7.3 kg (16.1 lbs) | 44.8 × 24.5 × 55.5 cm (17.6 × 9.6 × 21.8 in, IATA cabin-compatible) | £435 RRP / $479 MSRP | Check price at Bugaboo |
| Joolz Aer+ | 6 kg (13.2 lbs) | 53.5 × 45 × 21.5 cm (21.1 × 17.7 × 8.5 in) | £419 RRP / $449 MSRP | Check price at Joolz |
| Stokke YOYO3 (Babyzen YOYO) | 6.2 kg (13.6 lbs) | 52 × 44 × 18 cm (20.5 × 17.3 × 7.1 in, IATA cabin-size) | £399 RRP / $449 MSRP | Check price at Stokke |
| UPPAbaby Minu V2 | 7.7 kg (16.9 lbs) | 58.4 × 45.2 × 29.2 cm (23 × 17.8 × 11.5 in) | £399 RRP / $399 MSRP | Check price at UPPAbaby |
| Joie pact lite | 5.35 kg (11.8 lbs) | 46.8 × 26 × 54 cm (18.4 × 10.2 × 21.3 in) | Around £160 / $199 (varies by retailer) | Check price at Joie |
Blank cells: not yet verified from the maker's official page.
Related guides
Some links may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more. Specs and prices come from makers' official pages (checked 2026-10-30). Always check before you buy.
Last checked and updated: · Kiddieko · How we check facts
Handy tools
The Kiddieko letter
Gear picks and travel tips for parents, about twice a month. No spam.



