Cruise line baby rules compared

Key facts

Short answer: P&O, Royal Caribbean, Disney, Celebrity, Princess and Costa take babies from 6 months (12 months on some long sailings); MSC has no minimum age on most cruises (age 2 on 11+ nights). Cots are on request on every line, but nurseries for under-3s are only on some lines and ships.

How old does your baby need to be, will there be a cot, and is there anywhere they can be looked after? Here's what each cruise line says on its own website.

Checked October 2026 on each cruise line's official site (sources below the table). Rules change and can differ by ship and sailing, so confirm with the line before you book.

Cruise lineMinimum age to sailCotsUnder-3s careKids' club ages
P&O CruisesOver 6 months; 12 months on some cruises and Exotic fly-cruises (days in a row at sea or remote itineraries)Yes on family ships, request before you sailNight nursery, 6pm to midnight (age range not published)6 months to 17 years
Royal Caribbean6 months; 12 months for transatlantic, transpacific, Hawaii, select South America or 3+ consecutive sea daysFree cots on request (baby up to 14 kg and 89 cm)Royal Babies & Tots Nursery, 6 to 36 months, select ships, hourly feeAdventure Ocean, 3 to 12 (teen lounge 13 to 17)
MSC CruisesNo minimum on most cruises; age 2 on cruises of 11 nights or moreLimited number, request before departureBaby Club 0 to 3: Baby Time with parents; Baby Care drop-off from 6 months (fee)3 to 17
Disney Cruise Line6 months; 1 year for Transatlantic, Panama Canal, Hawaii and South Pacific repositioningPack 'n Play / convertible crib under 35 inches via Special Requests, free, subject to availability"it's a small world" nursery, 6 months to 3 yearsOceaneer Club 3 to 10
Celebrity Cruises6 months; 12 months for transatlantic, transpacific, Hawaii, some South America or 3+ consecutive sea daysNot stated on its site (Oct 2026); ask the lineNone: no nursery or drop-off for under-3sCamp at Sea 3 to 12 (potty trained), teens 13 to 17
Norwegian (NCL)6 months; 12 months if 3+ consecutive sea daysFoldable playpen with bedding (no traditional cots); request when you bookGuppies Open Play with a parent, 6 months to 3 yearsSplash Academy 3 to 12
Cunard6 months; some voyages 12 months (ask Cunard)Travel cot on request at booking, limited availabilityNight Nursery, 6 to 23 months, 6pm to 11pmPlay Zone 2 to 7, Kids' Zone 8 to 12, teens 13 to 17
Princess Cruises6 months on Alaska, Canada/New England, Caribbean, Europe, Mexico and trans-canal; 12 months on all othersPortable cot on request, first come first served; bring your own if neededFirefly Park (6 months to 7 years) on Sun and Star Princess onlyTreehouse 3 to 7, Lodge 8 to 12
Costa Cruises6 months; 12 months for transoceanic, world cruises and 15+ daysCradles and cots on request, subject to availabilityNo drop-off; Squok Baby Area 0 to 3 with a parentSquok Club 3 to 11 (toilet trained)
Marella Cruises6 monthsFree to borrow on boardNo crèche; Mini M Club stay-and-play for 0 to 3 with a parentM Crew 3 to 7, M Club 8 to 11 (family ships)

"Not stated on its site" means we couldn't find the answer on the line's own pages when we checked in October 2026, not that there are no cots. Ask the cruise line when you book.

Sources (checked October 2026)

Good to know — Checking Dates, Family Staterooms & Pre-Cruise Stays: Compare live dates and family stateroom rates across Royal Caribbean, MSC Cruises, Disney Cruise Line, Celebrity Cruises, Norwegian (NCL), Cunard, Princess Cruises, and Costa Cruises on CruiseDirect Family Cruises, and filter by free cots or kitchenettes for your pre-cruise night on Booking.com (affiliate links).

What to ask before you book

Line-by-line guides

Not sure which line to pick? See best cruise lines for babies from the UK, or cruises with a baby from UK ports for no-fly sailings.

Back to cruising with a baby.

Last checked and updated: · Kiddieko · How we check facts

Some links may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more. Specs and prices come from makers' official pages (checked 2026-10-30). Always check before you buy.

Handy tools

The Kiddieko letter

Gear picks and travel tips for parents, about twice a month. No spam.


We only use your email to send the letter, and you can unsubscribe at any time. See our privacy policy.